Picture of eTESDA PMU
Institutions, LGUs make tech-voc education work
by eTESDA PMU - Monday, 29 September 2014, 08:42 AM
Local government units (LGUs) and institutions that are partners of the Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA) are crucial in molding the youth to be skilled and competent graduates that the agency envisions them to be.

They provide support to TESDA's programs and projects related to workforce development such as training, assessment, scholarships, donations and provision of technical assistance in skills competitions, standards and curriculum development.

Once a year, TESDA honors those who gave it a little more push to help further technical vocational education in the country, make it within reach, especially of the poor, and use it to produce graduates with relevant skills.
For 2014, the Philippine-Nippon Technical College of Region XI emerged as the national winner for the Kabalikat Award Institutional Category, while declared winners for the LGU partner category were the Municipal Government of Masinloc, Zambales (Region III) and City Government of Candon, Ilocos Sur (Region I).

Phil-Nippon was established in Davao del Sur in 2007 as a satellite office of its main branch in Calamba, Laguna. Originally, it served largely as an orientation venue for scholars before they start their training at the school’s main site. Due to the demand, however, the Davao del Sur branch soon began to offer full language courses, which gave the students the necessary competency in Japanese Language.

It currently offers four Japanese courses and a short 160-hour Factory Words course. The school is affiliated with 160 companies in Japan as potential employers of their graduates. From 2011 to 2013, it has placed around 600 beneficiaries as interns in Japan, while another 61 of their 2014 graduates are awaiting deployment.

Today, Phil-Nippon Davao continues to train and develop young professionals, who wish to learn and improve their talent and skills and to become intern-workers in Japan.

For 11 years, the City of Candon has been a partner of TESDA, promoting and supporting tech-voc and other related activities. From 2011-2013, more than 960 individuals were trained under various tech-voc programs with more than 1,300 assessed. During the same period, it donated more than P13 million for different tech-voc activities, and allotted P420,000 for promotion and advocacy activities.

Aside from training, the city government has also provided such assistance in the conduct of job fairs, livelihood programs and career guidance to its constituents.
A fourth class city in Ilocos Sur, Candon is also known as the tobacco capital of the Philippines, being the largest producer of Virginia tobacco in the country.

Masinloc in Zambales has been a TESDA partner since 2007, and puts in practice its mission to “harness resources in partnership with the community."

From 2011 to 2013, the municipal government donated more than P27 million to support its training and tech-voc advocacy. During this period, more than 5,100 Masinloqueños were trained under its scholarship programs, with about 390 assessed. These were in skills training programs like Welding, Dressmaking and Hair Cutting. Livelihood training programs provided included Candle Making, Flower Making and other similar handicraft skills.

Placement assistance to their beneficiaries includes career guidance and employment coaching services. Further job placement assistance is ensured by the municipality’s linkages with industry partners.

Awarded regional winners for the Institution Category were Temasek Foundation, Singapore (Central Office); Manantan Institute of Science and Technology (Region I); KRYZ Culinary Arts and Restaurant Services Institute Inc. (Region VI); Phil-Nippon Technical College Inc. (Region XI); AMA-CLC of Agusan del Sur (Caraga Region); Tarlac School of Arts and Trades Inc (Region III); Cebu Science of Welding and Skills Technology Inc. (Region VII); Kananga-EDC Institute of Technology (Region VIII); Lyceum of the Philippines University - Batangas (Region IV-A); Holy Trinity College of General Santos City (Region XII); and, Paradigm Colleges of Science and Technology (Region IV-B).

For the LGU Category, the following were the regional winners: Provincial government of Rizal (Region IV-A); Provincial government of Agusan del Norte (Caraga region); City government of Muntinlupa (NCR); City government of Baguio (CAR); City government of Candon, Ilocos Sur (Region I); Municipal government of Gonzaga, Cagayan (Region II); Municipal government of Masinloc, Zambales (Region III); Municipal government of Aroroy, Masbate (Region V); Municipal government of Mina, Iloilo (Region VI); Municipal government of Jagna, Bohol (Region VII); Municipal government of Gutalac, Zamboanga del Norte (Region IX); Municipal government of Lugait, Misamis Oriental (Region X); and, Muncipal government of Polomolok, South Cotabato (Region XII). END