Picture of eTESDA PMU
Malacanang appoints 6 new TESDA board members
by eTESDA PMU - Thursday, 17 December 2015, 06:05 PM
Malacanang has announced the appointment of six new executives who will compose the ​Board of the Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA).

In a letter dated November 6, Executive Secretary Paquito Ochoa Jr. said the six new board members will each have a term of three years.

The new appointees will work side-by-side Secretary ​Irene Isaac, the new Director General, who was appointed by President Benigno Aquino III following the resignation of Joel Villanueva, who will run for senator in the May 2016 elections.

TESDA is the government agency mandated to promote technical vocational education and training in the country.

The new appointees are Bayani Diwa representing the labor sector; Mary Go Ng and Fernandino Lising, representing the business and investment sector; Leonida Bayani-Ortiz, Danilo Lachica and Ma. Paloma Papa, representing the employers sector.

Diwa, a lawyer, is the current secretary-general of the Unified Filipino Service Workers. He is the former president of the National Confederation of Labor. He is also a voluntary arbitrator. He finished law at the Manuel Luis Quezon University.

Ng is the current president of H & E Manufacturing Corporation and honorary president of the Packaging Institute of the Philippines and the Philippine Plastics Industrial Association of the Philippines. She is also involved in civic organizations such as the Federation of Filipino-Chinese Chamber of Commerce and Industries Inc. She obtained a college degree in banking and finance.

Lising is the current President of United Philippine Lines, Inc. and Belchem Philippines, Inc. He is the Consul to the Consulate General of the Republic of Poland. He is a graduate of Harvard Business School OPM Program, finished his Masters in Entrepreneurship at the Asian Institute of Management, and a faculty of the University of Sto. Tomas, College of Commerce. He is an awardee of the “Bene Merito” a Honorary Distinction from Polish Minister of Foreign Affairs, Republic of Poland. He also received the Presidential Award of Excellence from the Office of the President and the Philippine Overseas and Employment Administration (POEA) for his company, United Philippine Lines Inc.

Bayani-Ortiz is currently the president of the National Council of Women of the Philippines and a commissioner of the Philippine Commission on Women. A holder of a doctoral degree ​i​n Humanities, she is an active member of various civic organizations, particularly the Lions Club and the Philippine Red Cross.

Lachica is the current president of the Semiconductor and Electronics Industries in the Philippines Foundation, Inc. (SEIPI). He has spent 38 years as part of the management of various companies on consumer goods, semiconductor and solar. He also worked abroad, particularly, in the United States and Malaysia. He finished his Doctorate in Business Administration from the De La Salle University, MBA from San Jose State University, California, USA and B.S Electrical Engineering from the University of the Philippines.

Papa is a holder of Ph.D. in Organizational Development. She has been a President/Treasurer of the East Manila Cable Internet, Inc. and 2-term trustee of the Marikina Polytechnic College. She is currently a Commissioner of the Philippine Commission on Women representing NGO-Business and Industry and immediate Federation Director of the Soroptimist International of the Americas. END